top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKefi Kalinaw

Roaming Miami Freely and Intentionally: Taquiza Tacos Food Review

Updated: May 10, 2021


 

Have you ever needed a day to yourself? Just a quick errand to feel productive or more like...well...you. It’s the simple completion of whatever task you have on your mind constantly that can turn you into an entirely new person at the end of your self getaway.


It was a purposeful Thursday, January morning and all I needed was a means of getting places, good energy, and I was out the door. I wanted to be alone and out of any familiarity zones. It was time for new scenery. I ordered my Uber and I think my first stop might sound a bit exaggerative to you, but I finally invested and indulged in a luxurious (but worth it) naturally curly hair cut and style. It was terribly needed. My hair was uneven and had little definition on the top because of the way my layers sat. I rocked a frizzy fro and it was not okay anymore. A true transformation was the goal and honey….I literally got every bit of what I intended for. Major credit to such a wonderful hair stylist, conversationalist, and artist because the masterpiece she brought to life on my scalp left me speechless. It was difficult to think I would walk out of the salon looking the way her clients beautifully do. The revelation basically actualized all the hair goals I had in mind for myself and realistically she nailed it and I'm excited to handle my hair now. Wash day is approachable and serene instead of the most dreaded part of my day.


All my natural hair enthusiast out there understand it is a clouded attempt to picture your hair in another example because in the end it still feels like a risk with consequences that can lead to more downs than ups. I kept seeing the potential my hair had in the trial and success of others but it puts a whole new ball into play once it is tangible. Each stage @cicilovescurls brought me through unlocked another level of that perspective I had not seen for myself. The shorter my hair got as she delicately shaped my crown the more confidence I gained during the process.

 

I was satisfied even before the final washbowl routine. You know the wash is snapping right when the conversation between hairstylist and client ends and you are low-key in a sleepy trance almost like a good daytime nap daze and the rest is history. Overall, you get the picture it was an experience that rejuvenated me and instantly started my new year off with revitalization. My self-care mattered that day and it mattered for my well-being.


I knew what this actionable step could mean for me and I intentionally sought it out. I booked my appointment in November for a January date. This was a gap I was initially hesitant to commit to, I went for it. I scheduled around the date and made sure I got the chance to properly enjoy the intentional choice. I showed up for myself that day. In more ways than one.


The unique turn of events that day was planning to make an entire moment out of it. I dressed up to finally make it around Miami, all on my lonely and to feel good about it. This gave me a chance to tackle a few emotions I held in my heart: bouts with loneliness, urges for spontaneity, checklists of try-these, and need for a change of pace. I wanted to strut around on a million missions and feel excitement about it.


Intentionally, these goals led me around the corner from the end of the hair appointment to add the cherry on top.

So here is the backstory of how I got there. I was asking for suggestions on where to go after my 3-hour appointment. I packed lunch in hopes of saving money for my uber home. Choosing to go against that decision was probably the best thing that I could’ve done that day. I wanted to try something nearby but I was tired of wasting my money. I wanted really good food, no excuses. At the same time, I was starving from spending time getting ready versus preparing breakfast. So naturally, a girl wanted some delectable eats. To quench that expectation was an exquisite revelation located right around the corner about half a block behind the hair salon. I checked out food spots on my map app and crossed my fingers. As soon as I walked up to the North Beach Taquiza location I don’t think I really thought twice much at all after that. I had a "walking into the gates of heaven" moment. It had a gorgeous exterior design, beach friendly, and COVID-19 prepared. I was being cautious of my new hair so outdoor seating was an option but they were gracious enough to allow me one of the few vacant seats indoors.

 

I was feeling in my element. I had my tablet out using Pinterest to catch up on my vision board while enjoying the aroma of tacos, totopos, fresh wind and margarita banter. The ambiance was fitting and the customer service was endearing. It was so attentive and reassuring. If the food wasn’t as amazing as I am about to describe it as I would have been content with that alone. Luckily, it was all astonishing and each tidbit was complimentary of the next. I obviously am underaged so I wasn’t ordering drinks but it typically tickled me that day as the hostess started to explain the drinks menu that maybe my hairstyle adds a dimension to my age appearance that I didn’t account for in my impulsive but premeditated hair cut. That ran through my head.


I borderline ended up wanting the whole menu, hold off on the crickets. Eventually I concluded that I want toppings, variety, and a meal that is going to check my taco box because as much as I wish I could get up craving Taquiza and dart there, I know it will be a while until I make my way back the second time around for another delicious feast. Even then there are so many other places to give a whirl making its hard to make time for repeats.

If you’re here reading through this for the food review, You made it, now let’s get you to the good stuff.


I am instantly rating Taquiza a ten out of ten. I made sure I tried out all the options I could afford and enjoy. For reference I spent around $33 in total without drinks because water exists! It was a self care day so I ordered water to appease myself for all my other “unnecessary” choices. I have a bad habit of always ordering chips and dip if I’m having tacos or any Mexican dish for that matter. This tendency of mine also carries over into needing the Holy Trinity: guac, queso, and salsa. Basically a must. When my order came I had to give myself a hug because in total honesty it was the best chips and dip selection ever. The chips I am referring to are properly named on their menu as totopos which were fluffy with a typical tortilla crunch. They came out fresh, I mean warm and melting in your mouth with and without dips. It took me a moment to pull back from the totopos and dips to move onto to the tacos, sincerely it was that good. I had no need to be on my phone or care about anything except admiring the dishes. The food demanded my presence. The queso hit all the right notes and was warm as well, with an appealing consistency and flavor as anticipated. Definitely the item on the menu you may want to drizzle across any dish you pick out. The guac and salsa alone could encourage you to write home like I am right now. Five stars my friends.


I wanted tacos and it was time I took the messy bite I've been craving for so long. It was a juggling act for sure with 3 toppings across the 4 meals choices I settled on. I took a taco bite without any extra add ons of the pollo (chicken) taco. It gave freshly prepared and authentic flavors. It was a lovely collaboration of the seasoning, the tender textures and of course the not to be underrated blue masa corn (soft) tortilla. Every bite was worth the experience. I ordered an asada taco as well. I’m a big fan of well cooked and represented meats and this one took the cake well in this case the taco. So I prematurely want to the name the asada taco the second best item (second to the totopos of course) I had that day. It was perfection. Not one ingredient was out of place, all perfectly married. Need I say more? Go try it out ASAP. Flavor was a 10. My satisfaction, a 10 as well.


Lastly, I gave a original tostada a try and had to refrain from asking for sour cream because I wasn’t sure that was a proper option considered it wasn’t ideally served with the meal so I put aside my own preferences to have a fresh unaltered review to give you. I enjoyed it, not as much as the rest because I’m typically not very fond of the rajas (peppers and onion) so I could say I tried and enjoyed the crunchy contrast I got with the tostada blue corn hard shell. I could've also used plenty more frijoles but this definitely a great option if you prefer a vegetarian, gluten free option. Overall, I need to go back for a few things that I encourage you to look forward to as well! Here’s a quick list:


  • Elote (I knew I wouldn’t have room, never tried an elote, but now it’s a must)

  • Horchata ( I can’t believe I didn’t see this on the menu!)

  • Frijoles (I’m that girl to tear up frijoles, respectfully.)

  • Cochinita (Shredded pork) Barbacoa (brisket) and Carnita (Pork) Tacos

  • Lengua (Beef Tongue) Taco (I think I’m intrigued!)

  • Churros (They had me at chocolate sauce.)

See there menu below!


 

Recent Posts

See All

Netflix Blog Reviews and Breakdowns...Coming Soon...

Be on the lookout for my upcoming blogs. These film teams have had me hooked and I know I'm not alone! Think of these blogs as a way to see what your takeaways and comments on the Tv series and movies

bottom of page