top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKefi Kalinaw

Two 4 One: My Food Review on Yard Bird and Bella Cuba

Not a Wendy's "Four for Four"! Today my special is on the menu: a two for one food review with jam-packed details on two well-known and recommended Miami, Florida restaurants I decided to give a try with my aunt and her boyfriend visiting from Chicago!


I can't be alone, someone backs me up on this one it's so much pressure to be left up to the task of picking a good restaurant for your guests. I had an idea of what I would want but in the same breath, they have to be down for the cause as well. After a long day of travel, they held off on all meals so I was desperately trying not to disappoint with my restaurant selection. The kicker is that this very day was my Aunt's birthday! I had a lot of memories at stake on my plate. Side Note: The image you see below features a cake from one of my favorite bakeries @twotocake on Instagram! All the Yardbird waitresses and waiters were so impressed with the cake's glory and how glamorous it appears!

Before ordering we were informed that Yard Bird is known for long periods of brining their chicken and from what I understand about brining it is a step in meat preparation made to treat your food with an intense amount of brine or salt to enhance the meat's tenderness and flavor. The technique they used for the chicken was successful as intended in that sense but on the other hand, it fell short in the flavor department. I get it, sometimes it's not always about that one go-to flavor palette we have in mind about fried chicken but I don't think it was one I will choose to u-turn for. We all found ourselves leaning on the small portion of honey hot sauce they served us to add some oomph to our supper. I might be to young to comment on this sauce but let's just say the maple bourbon sauce wasn't sitting well on my 2-year-old sugary palette.

Yard Bird's side dishes were as anticipated but with a healthy amount of chicken in the meal, we only ordered one mac and cheese and one mashed potatoes serving. They are mostly shareable portions you and your family can dip into.

If you are a soul food connoisseur, once you see the image of the sides you can probably arrive at your idea of what they taste like. It's hard to describe but I'll put it simply as soul food intuition you can taste it through your soul just by appearance itself. Moving on the mashed potatoes as my aunt put it that evening were regular in hindsight I would've selected cheesy grits or southern street corn to add some excitement to the table. I was getting TV dinner energy just a bit.





Bella Cuba 1659 Washington Ave Miami Beach, FL 33139



Now Bella Cuba, Bella Cuba! Oh, how this place has my heart in my stomach! I was super pleased with my meal of choice it was one I confidently chose being the meat Cuban food lover I am. It was such a difficult choice to pick only two delicious sides without spending more than was necessary and it's always dangerous for more than two options for someone like me who is an often over-eater. I was very happy to choose black beans and tostones along with a medium-well skirt steak with chimichurri to top it off. The beans had the killer flavor that would've complimented fluffy white rice, but I think the fried platanos could be enough of a dose of carbs. I could say that my first introduction to chimichurri has pretty much ruled my tastebuds maybe 10 years later and now each moment I see that one singular word on a menu watch out because I'm ordering it. It's the perfect substitute to freshen up a dish with acidity and herbs versus another type of thick sauce to weigh down the duo.


My Aunt indulged in the Glazed Tropical Pollo Dish with maduros (sweet plantains) and Spanish yellow rice. Pictured above. If you consider yourself a sweet and heat lover, congrats, your order has been placed because this one is for you. It was well cooked, presented, and its aroma surely gave everyone a delicious whiff. Her significant, probably the newest rookie to the Cuban experience kept it simple with grilled Pollo a la plancha, a chicken fillet with sauteed onion and fries, and yellow rice as well. From what I can tell it was all very delicious and just beautiful Cuban authenticity.

If you are looking for a quick place to grab a bit for good prices bit I would definitely recommend this spot if you're in the area! I'm sure Miami is flooded with other Cuban spots so keep your options open and I'm sure you'll enjoy your meal. Stick with meets you expect to be juicy and toppings you find appealing! My best advice is to order sides that compliment your main entree so you save room for a Cuban sandwich with yuca fries to go perhaps! The spot was small but wholesome and I invite you to give it a try and let me know how your experience fares.








bottom of page